maternal
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

 
Advanced search

22750 Posts in 6706 Topics- by 17591 Members - Latest Member: permsk

31-05-2020 09:14:32
JOOM::GALLERY::FORUMArchivePonyGallery MLInstallation / UpdateInternet Explorer 7
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Internet Explorer 7  (Read 18739 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
trlbldr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



View Profile WWW
« on: 26-12-2008 21:05:15 »

I recently installed JoomGallery on a J1.0 site, http://www.acmetreadway.net; the site opens using Firefox but...Internet Explorer 7 returns an error message stating that IE cannot open the site.

If I unpublish the link to JoomGallery ("Photo Albums") and unpublish the module, IE 7 opens the site as it should.

What is going on? I appreciate any and all suggestions.

Thanks very much!


Don White
« Last Edit: 26-12-2008 21:21:11 by trlbldr » Logged

Don White
DaveM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 05-01-2009 12:07:51 »

I don't have a solution for you but I have exactly the same problem.  I installed JoomGallery on a working site yesterday and the site works fine but clicking on the Photo Gallery link when using IE results in errors and nothing is displayed.  The same site and link in every other browser, FF, Opera, SeaMonkey, Chrome and Safari works just fine.  It's only IE that has the problem.

This installation is on Joomla 1.0.15 Stable and JoomGallery was downloaded yesterday so it should be the latest.
« Last Edit: 05-01-2009 12:12:01 by DaveM » Logged
mab
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 377



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 05-01-2009 12:26:12 »

Hi 2all,

@trlbldr: sorry for the late reply. Is that the reason for you to change the gallery? Sorry.

@DaveM: could you please give us a link to your site?
Logged

with best regards...
mab
DaveM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 05-01-2009 12:40:25 »

I activated the gallery for you to look at but I don't want to keep it active for too long if at all possible since the vast majority of my audience uses IE and it won't work for them.

http://www.stonyhillfire.org/component/option,com_joomgallery/Itemid,85/
Logged
mab
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 377



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 05-01-2009 14:02:32 »

Hi,

could you please deactivate the Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow?
Logged

with best regards...
mab
DaveM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: 05-01-2009 14:15:03 »

could you please deactivate the Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow?

I'd be happy to if you can give me a clue to where I might find that.  I tried turning off slideshows completely but it didn't make any difference FWIW.

If seeing the configuration file would help I'd be happy to post it or send it to you.
Logged
mab
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 377



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: 05-01-2009 14:19:34 »

Hi DaveM,

the Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow is part of your template I guess...

Edit: or change the PopUp from Lightbox to Thickbox3. I think some of the loaded Javascripts don't like each other...
« Last Edit: 05-01-2009 14:24:10 by mab » Logged

with best regards...
mab
DaveM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: 05-01-2009 14:45:18 »

Selecting thickbox3 allows things to work on my local installation but not the production installation (the one I posted the link for). I do use the slideshow in my header but it doesn't explain why a duplicate of the site works locally but not in production. Sad  Any other ideas/suggestions?
Logged
mab
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 377



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: 05-01-2009 15:01:16 »

Hi DaveM,

I disabled all Javascripts using IE Developer Toolbar and your site works and JoomGallery too...
Logged

with best regards...
mab
DaveM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: 05-01-2009 15:20:43 »

I switched the slideshow I was using in the header real quick and the gallery loads now but none of the slideshow options in JoomGallery seem to work (but only on the production box, everything still works as it should locally which is quite odd).  I'm going to see if it makes any difference with no slideshow at all in my header (though I don't believe it should/will).
Logged
DaveM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: 05-01-2009 15:25:26 »

OK, I got rid of the slideshow in the header but none of the "Open Original Picture in" options seem to be working now <insert sound of head banging on desk> :)  Things seem to be getting worse instead of better.  I've emptied the Joomla cache as well as the browser cache just in case.  Things continue to work fine in all other browsers too ... just IE that's being a pain Sad
Logged
mab
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 377



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: 05-01-2009 15:37:14 »

Hi DaveM,

I do not know, what's up with your IE, but for me it works.
Logged

with best regards...
mab
mab
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 377



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: 05-01-2009 15:42:10 »

Hi DaveM,

see attached screenshot
Logged

with best regards...
mab
DaveM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: 05-01-2009 15:42:45 »

Yes sir, it seems to be this instance of IE that's at fault.  I just tried it on a couple other machines and it does seem to be fine now. Validates once again why I avoid IE at all costs :)  Thanks for your assistance and patience.  This is a wonderful addition to Joomla to say the least.
Logged
mab
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 377



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: 05-01-2009 15:46:57 »

Hi DaveM,

glad to hear that  Smilewinkgrin
Logged

with best regards...
mab
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Jump to:  

HOSTED BY SCHWARZKÜNSTLER ®

PROTECTED BY  ZB BLOCK  AND Project Honey Pot
Theme orange-lt created by panic

Bad Behavior has blocked 2821 access attempts in the last 7 days.

maternal