Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

 
Advanced search

22745 Posts in 6703 Topics- by 17593 Members - Latest Member: permsk

19-10-2019 08:11:21
JOOM::GALLERY::FORUMArchiveJoomGallery 2.x ACLMiscellaneousProblem with recorded IPs.
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Problem with recorded IPs.  (Read 2354 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Panos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


View Profile
« on: 09-01-2013 11:52:12 »

Dear developers,

I've been using JoomGallery for 3 years, for the purposes of running Photoshop contests on my site.
As it always happens with photo contests, some people try to cheat.
JoomGallery's IP tracking has proved very useful in helping me finding out the cheaters.

But it doesn't work properly in the latest version (2.2.1):

When user uploads a new image, or rates an existing image, or leaves a comment, Joomgallery will record my own IP instead of the user's IP.
I am attaching an example (IPs.png) that shows the problem.

Thank you
Panos

Logged
Chraneco
Developer-Team
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3544


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 09-01-2013 13:16:49 »

Hi,

what do you mean with your own IP?
Are you refering to the IP of your server?

Regards
Chraneco
Logged
Panos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 09-01-2013 20:24:48 »

Dear Chraneco,
thank you for your prompt reply.

It's the IP of my server.
It gets recorded in these tables instead of the user's IP:
joomgallery_votes
joomgallery_comments

Logged
Panos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 16-01-2013 11:15:15 »

I installed the latest JoomGallery update (2.1.2) however the issue persists.
My server's IP keeps being recorded when someone rates / comments on an image (instead of the user's IP).

Any thoughts on that?

Thank you
Panos
Logged
Chraneco
Developer-Team
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3544


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 17-01-2013 00:51:18 »

Hi,

I just tested that on our server and there it is still working correctly.

Since directly the correspondent PHP variable is used for that I don't think that there is a problem in the code.

Maybe there is some kind of proxy server between your users and your site.

Regards
Chraneco
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

HOSTED BY SCHWARZKÜNSTLER ®

PROTECTED BY  ZB BLOCK  AND Project Honey Pot
Theme orange-lt created by panic

Bad Behavior has blocked 9235 access attempts in the last 7 days.